Step into the Gap – Jason and Bea begin CAFOD gap year

Jason and Bea are starting their CAFOD gap year

Jason and Bea are starting their CAFOD gap year

Bea

Hello I’m Bea and I’m part of CAFOD’s Step into the Gap programme based at The Briars Catholic Youth Retreat Centre in the Nottingham Diocese. Following my previous year on the volunteer team at The Briars I wanted to explore my passion for social justice, so when the opportunity arose to be on the Step into the Gap programme I jumped at the chance! And I can’t believe I’m part of – it’s so exciting!

Learn about CAFOD’s gap year

It’s constantly a lively and busy atmosphere at The Briars, and I’m really pleased with everything I’ve achieved so far. I’ve started leading games and prayers based on CAFOD’s work and also had the opportunity to speak about Harvest Fast Day at Nottingham Cathedral! There were so many people there and I’m so proud I did it!

Just this week, Jason and I vlogged our day as a gapper which will be available on YouTube soon so everyone can see what we’ve been up to!

I’m a big Pope Francis fan and we’ve been reading his latest encyclical Laudato Si’. It’s been surprisingly easy to read and it’s opened my eyes to so much. It’s also proven useful to reference when talking to groups about CAFOD’s One Climate, One World campaign.

I’m learning so much every day at The Briars and it’s been great just chatting to young people about what’s going on in the world and how they can make a difference. I’ve got some exciting plans for sessions and games that I’m looking forward to putting together this term too. I can’t wait for what this year has in store!

18-30? Take a look at CAFOD’s gap year

Jason

Jason's getting ready to Step into the Gap with CAFOD

Jason’s getting ready to Step into the Gap with CAFOD

Hello everyone! My name is Jason and I’m currently on my second gap year at The Briars! The Briars is a youth retreat centre in Crich (Derbyshire) which welcomes over 5000+ young people of all ages through its doors each year. This year I’m lucky enough to be involved in CAFOD’s Step Iinto the Gap programme. I feel it’s the perfect opportunity for me as I’m still unsure as to what to do next with my life so I’m in a place where I have the support to develop my own skills but also focus on making a change in the world through my actions!

I’m very passionate about photography and film making and overall the power of media, so I look forward to seeing how I can utilise those skills this year to spread CAFOD’s work worldwide! It’s been a very busy first few weeks at The Briars getting stuck in at the deep end, for example leading CAFOD sessions on retreats and even doing talks at the St Barnabas Cathedral in Nottingham, I can tell it’s going to be a very productive year! I’m most excited about the people I will meet and the stories I will experience along the way!

Step into the Gap with CAFOD

2 thoughts on “Step into the Gap – Jason and Bea begin CAFOD gap year

  1. Pingback: Step into the Gap – Fiona and Joanna prepare for overseas visits | CAFOD Salford Blog

Leave a Reply

